Catherine Galascione, Poet

author-catherine

Among our Night Writers group is Catherine Galascione, an active and accomplished Twin Cities poet, who joined us about two years ago.  She will be participating October 14 to 15, 2016, in the St. Paul Arts Crawl.   Watch for her poems and Sally’s paintings to be posted here over the coming days.

Suite for My Mother and Other Poems – Poetry & Paintings

by

Catherine Galascione & Sally Bullers

Over the last two years, I wrote a suite of poems about my mother, Angela Galascione, who passed away from breast cancer in 2011. My mother was a watercolor painter and was part of a Plein Air Painting group, where she lived in North Carolina. Sally Bullers is an artist who was also part of the same painting group; and was my mother’s very dear friend.

I wrote to Sally in June 2015 and asked her if she would be interested in collaborating on this poetry and painting project. Since she was such a dear friend of my mother’s and a painter my mother admired, I was hopeful she would want to do it.

Sally enthusiastically accepted and we commenced. Our process together has been very satisfying and truly collaborative – reciprocal, respectful, and deeply touching.

~ Catherine Galascione, Poet

When I was approached by Catherine Galascione about a project she had in mind I readily accepted. Catherine is the daughter of Angela Galascione, a dear friend of mine and fellow artist who passed away several years ago. Catherine had written a suite of poems about her mother and suggested I could interpret them with a painting. I selected a few that spoke to me and have done my best to illustrate the emotion I find in these poems.

I lived near the ocean in North Carolina for ten years and Angela and I shared many happy times together, painting and just enjoying each other’s company. I am delighted to participate in this project.

~ Sally Bullers, Painter http://www.sallybullersartist.com

Leave a Reply

